Time for cookies

It is almost christmas so I thought it is time to bake some cookies, and typical Finnish ones preferably. So I looked on the internet to find something Finnish. And I did find something they are called Joulutorttu which means jam tarts. And they are specially eaten around christmas.

First I had to find the ingredients which is harder than it sounds. That is because all of the names are of course in Finnish in the store, but that is why google.translate is one of the best inventions of this century. I went to the Kcitymarket to buy everything, it is one of the biggest supermarkets here in Turku so I figured they would have everything.

          500g unsalted butter; cubed, at room temperature
          500g light ricotta
          500g plain flour
          1/2 jar plum jam

But they didn’t have ricotta or plum jam, so I had to go to an other store to get those two things. But also in the other store there was no plum jam to be found, so I just went with strawberry jam. I went home to get started on the pastry. I only made half of the recipe, because I’m only getting fat by eating so many cookies. The dough had to be kneaded. So I rolled up my sleeves and went for it.I had to improvise a little because I don’t have any fancy kitchenware like a rolling pin, so I flattened the dough with my hands. Which was a lot of work. I had to cut them in squares and fold them in a curtain way with the jam inside.

Then in the oven. And I must say I’m pretty proud, they look almost the same as on the original image, and they are delicious. What I like most about them is that they are not so sweet, only the jam and the powder sugar, which you put on in the end, make it a little sweet. And even though I only made half of the recipe I still had enough to give out to some people at my school.

If you want to make something not so sweet for the holidays here is the recipe I used. Very easy and delicious.

Geef een reactie

